Pickled Eggs, Quail Eggs that is

I love me some pickled eggs!  Hand me a jar of them and a couple of my 22 oz homebrews, and I’ll be a happy redneck!  The bride  on the other hand won’t be happy seeing my impromptu feast knowing that there may be some fermentation effects later, but, I digress!

While perusing the isles of my favorite food store, Fiesta, I ran across a can of lovely goodness, quail eggs in water!  Already boiled, already shelled, and perfect for pickling!

image

 

Once I got home, I opened the pantry, the spice drawer, and then raided the bride’s canning jars!  It was time to make some pickled quail eggs!

To make the eggs, I used the following ingredients and process…

1 – 15 oz can of quail eggs

1.5 cups of white vinegar

1 Tbs pickling spice

1 bay leaf

1 highly minced garlic clove

Put all of the ingredients, except the eggs, into a sauce pan and bring to a boil. While the spice juice is getting ready to boil, add all of the eggs to a sterilized one quart Mason jar.

Once the pickling juice is boiling, remove it from the fire and pour it into the jar full of your quail eggs, filling to the bottom of the neck of the jar.  Put the cap on, screw the ring down gently, and do one of the following; just let the jar cool if you plan to eat them right after the waiting time of one week is up, or water bath them if you plan to let them sit for a couple of months. I water bathed mine.

Here they are all canned and waiting!

image

I made 2 jars of these and dined upon the first one about a week after canning, they were good, but today’s event was scrumptious!  I made these back in February  and opened jar number 2 today!  The pickling juice has now penetrated fully into the egg white and the yolk is still firm and flavorful!

image

I ate several of these and was amazed at the difference several months made!  I made myself stop eating since I want to take this jar out to the farm to share with my dad.   Oh, and for the record, not drinking beer tonight, so the bride is safe….

Got any questions, need more info?  Drop me a line!

Until next time, Bone Appetite!

 

So, whatcha think? Let me know...